Fife Tourism Partnership

Nominations open for VisitScotland's Scottish Thistle Awards

15 March 2023

The very best of Scotland’s tourism and events industry will be celebrated once again as nominations for the Scottish Thistle Awards 2023 open.

For more than 25 years, the Scottish Thistle Awards has helped shine a spotlight on individual businesses, people and partnerships working in this vital part of the Scottish economy, worth £11.5 billion.

And now for 2023, the nominations are open.

Nominations are open

Why don't you show a fellow tourism business some love and nominate them for a Scottish Thistle Award? There are 14 regional categories which cover all elements of the industry.

Nominate today

The categories

The Scottish Thistle Awards champion innovation, collaboration and sustainable practices, in line with the ambitions of the national tourism strategy, Outlook 2030.

There are a total of 14 regional categories in this year’s programme, celebrating the very best of Scotland’s accommodation sector, food and drink, outdoor experiences, and visitor attractions.

The three national-only categories celebrate Scotland’s outstanding sporting events, business events, and luxury experiences.

Responsible tourism remains at the heart of the Scottish Thistle Awards, supporting the aim for Scotland to be recognised globally as a leader in this field. Every entry will be required to provide evidence on how their businesses addresses key areas of responsible tourism.

Comrie Croft

Regional categories

Best Bar or Pub

Best B&B or Guest House Experience

Best Eating Experience

Best Hotel Experience

Best Outdoor or Adventure Experience

Best Self-Catering Accommodation Experience

Best Visitor Attraction

Celebrating Thriving Communities Award

Climate Action Award

Inclusive Tourism Award

Innovation in Tourism

Outstanding Cultural Event or Festival

Tourism & Hospitality Employer of the Year

Tourism Individual of the Year

National categories

Best Business Event

Outstanding Sporting Event

Best Luxury Experience

New categories for 2023

New categories introduced for the first time this year include the Celebrating Thriving Communities, Inclusive Tourism, and Climate Action Awards.

The Celebrating Thriving Communities award recognises the partnerships, collaborations, and teams that come together to protect and enhance our environment, whilst growing social, cultural and economic wealth.

The Inclusive Tourism Award celebrates a business that has developed an outstanding welcome for all customers.

The Climate Action Award celebrates businesses, events and destinations who have made demonstrable progress on their climate action journey to net zero.

Share the news